Students Making News

Congratulations Mrs. Leamy!!!
Sharon Leamy, our Junior High science teacher has been named a district winner in the Shell Science Lab Challenge, a competition for middle and high school science teachers. Sponsored by the Shell Oil Company and administered by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the competition encouraged teachers (grades 6-12), who have found innovative ways to deliver quality lab experiences with limited school and laboratory resources, to share their approaches for a chance to win a school science lab makeover support package valued at $20,000. Mrs. Leamy is one of 18 district winners named, from which five national finalists will be chosen, and from the national finalists a grand prize winner will be selected. Click the picture to view the video submission presented.
National Junior Honor Society

We would like to acknowledge our newly inducted National Junior Honor Society students for the 2013 / 2014 school year.

7th graders: Temari Campbell and Shaunia Singleton

8th graders: Brielle Gilliard, Makiah McBride, Jokari Mitchell, Aariya Newman, Justin Walker and Daryl Williams

These scholars will join the existing National Junior Honor Society members:

8th graders: Amaiya Bailey, Erynn Knight and Nikia Powell

Students are selected for membership based upon outstanding performance in the areas of: Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character. Congratulations to all winners - we look forward to honoring even more students next year!

Sweetheart Sr. Marion
Our beloved principal, Sr. Marion, was featured recently in an article in the Wednesday Journal of Oak Park and River Forest. Click the picture above to read the article.
LINK Unlimited Scholarships

Eighth graders Imani Burns, Myles English, Samuel Johnson and Jokari Mitchell have been named recipients of LINK Unlimited Scholarships. LINK Unlimited is a Faith based organization that provides 4-year scholarships to highly motivated Chicago area students with strong academic potential who exhibit commitment, responsibility, and a willingness to actively participate in the organization and its programs and activities. Scholars must maintain As and Bs in all subjects, make the Honor Roll, participate in extracurricular activities and perform community service hours. Congratulations to our very hard-working scholars!

Optimist Club of Oak Park Award

Brielle Gilliard of our 8th grade class represented St. Catherine St. Lucy School at the Oak Park Optimists Club Awards Luncheon. The Optimists recognize outstanding students in the Oak Park and River Forest area. One student is selected from each school in the area to represent the true spirit of the school. Brielle was chosen by her teachers as she epitomizes the true spirit of our school through her positive attitude, hard work, selflessness and dedication to her fellow students and school.

Daniel Murphy Scholarship Award

Aariya Newman of our 8th grade has been named a recipient of a Daniel Murphy Scholarship. The Daniel Murphy Scholarship Fund (DMSF) provides four-year high school scholarships and educational support to 8th grade students who demonstrate outstanding academic potential, leadership skills and strong character.

2011 All rights reserved.     Chicago Web Design